On view from November 4, 2016 through March 25, 2017
The Freedmen’s Bureau, set in place by the Lincoln administration following the end of the Civil War, was a relief effort for recently freed slaves. Education was one of the needs met by the funding of the Bureau. The Freedman’s school here in Cleveland began in 1867 and by 1883 it had been moved and renamed College Hill School.
College Hill had a reputation for outstanding education and excellent teachers throughout its history. Although the school closed in 1966 (and later mysteriously burned down) its legacy lives on. The Museum Center is proud to display artifacts from some of the Alumni of College Hill in addition to personal stories and memories of their time there. Come and experience College Hill’s Heritage at the Museum Center at 5ive Points.
College Hill Heritage is generously sponsored by: