Back to All Events

Caney Creek documentary

The History of Caney Creek Village (1912-1943) documentary tells the story of a small village built by Tennessee Power Company in 1912 to provide housing for the workers of Ocoee Dam #2 powerhouse. 

The houses in the village had indoor plumbing, telephones and electricity. The village had a one room school house, a tennis court, concrete sidewalks and a two story hotel. The village was closed when the Tennessee Valley Authority took over in the 1940s. All that remains are the concrete foundations and the memories of this unique town as told by six people who lived there.

The documentary, created by locals Ron and Debbie Moore, won an Award of Distinction from the East Tennessee Historical Society. The documentary is 54 minutes long.

FREE for Museum members; Regular admission for non-members ($5 adults; $4 Seniors/Students)

The children who attended school at Caney Creek c.1938

The children who attended school at Caney Creek c.1938

Earlier Event: September 6
History Happy Hour: Ocoee River
Later Event: September 22
Book Signing with Eddie Sherlin